Rob's media library…

A searchable library of posts to give you context for today…

Search tools are below the articles.
Items from your search will appear here.

Published on Friday, June 2, 2017

Community Spirit Awards Wednesday

Ceremony at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre

Community Spirit Awards Wednesday
Community Spirit Awards
By Nathan Howes, Oakville Beaver

The Town of Oakville previously announced 37 nominees for the 16th annual Community Spirit Awards, recognizing individuals, groups and businesses in seven categories.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony Wednesday, June 7 at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre, 2302 Bridge Rd.

The award will be designed by local illustrator, designer and portrait artist Emily Soden, who works with oil, acrylic scratchboard and pencils, as well as watercolour and ink, in themes often inspired by nature and animals.

And the nominees are:

Access Award - sponsor Access Abilities

• Bingo Rivera

Arts Award - sponsor Oakville Beaver

• Diana Isherwood

• Brenda Smith

Story continues below

• William Smith

• Wanyu Zhao

Group Volunteer Award - sponsored by Town of Oakville

• 100 Guys Who Care Oakville

• Bronte Harbour Yacht Club

• KSM’s Souper Kitchen Team

• May Court Club of Oakville

• Syrian Settlement Committee of St. Andrew’s Church

• The Oakville Rotaract Club

Heritage Award - sponsor Genworth Financial Canada

• Mary Davidson

Individual Volunteer Award - sponsor Paradiso Restaurant

• Janet Barber

• Carole Crowe

• Stephen Dankowich

• Dennis Ford

• Julie Gladu

• Anne Lamont

• Kelly Luscombe

• Carilyn McNaught

• Lynn Pike

• Jan Tingle

• Haileigh Walsh

• Barry Wylie

Senior Award – sponsor Chartwell Waterford Retirement Residence

• Clare Henderson

• Carol Kelley

• Margaret Larson

• Peter Lowes

• Alex and Jean Mason

• Ralph Wallace

Youth Award – sponsor RBC Royal Bank

• Aiza Abid

• Marica Pinnock

• Michelle Rubach

• Sydney Turner

• Teen Tech Team

• David Vidican

• Wanyu Zhao

Tickets to the awards ceremony cost $15 and can be purchased through the Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts at or 905-815-2021. There is no reserved seating for this event. For information on the awards, visit
Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (625)

Author: Mayor Rob Burton

Categories: News




Search Tools below:
Search Box produces articles containing any words you enter.
Media Article Selector allows you to browse all articles by title.
Tags link to frequently searched terms.

Search media library…

Media article browser…

Open a Category for a list of all its articles
or click a Category heading for a selection of its articles


Contact Rob:
Personal email -
Personal vmail - (905) 338-1200
© Copyright Rob Burton 2006—2018 | Terms | Privacy